Tuesday, June 06, 2023

G1 Climax 33 Participants Announced

It's that time of the year again.

New Japan Pro Wrestling has announced its field for this year's G1 Climax over the weekend.

The big news is that this year's participant list has expanded once again with thirty-two names announced for the month-long tournament which begins in mid-July.

Thirty-two names!

Just like last year, there will be four blocks. This time, however, there will be eight wrestlers per division who will wrestle each other in a round-robin format. The winners of each block, once those matches are completed, will then head to the semi-finals.

The winner - as is always the case - will then receive a contract to headline the Tokyo Dome show on January 4th. 

G1 Climax 33

The full list of participants, announced during the NJPW Dominion show over the week, are:

  1. Kazuchika Okada
  2. Tetsuya Naito
  4. Will Ospreay
  5. Hiroshi Tanahashi
  6. David Finlay
  7. Shota Umino
  8. Shingo Takagi
  9. Tomohiro Ishii
  10. Tama Tonga
  11. Tanga Loa
  12. Hikuleo
  13. Hirooki Goto
  15. Toru Yano
  16. KENTA
  17. Zack Sabre Jr.
  18. Taichi
  19. Eddie Kingston
  20. El Phantasmo
  21. Ren Narita
  22. EVIL
  23. Chase Owens
  24. Jeff Cobb
  25. Great-O-Khan
  26. Aaron Henare
  27. Gabriel Kidd
  28. Alex Coughlin
  29. Shane Haste
  30. Mikey Nicholls
  31. Yota Tsuji
  32. Kaito Kiyomiya

No comments:

Post a Comment